Writing my way through the school year!

Corporal Punishment

I don’t believe in using corporal punishment in the classroom, but boy oh boy, this week certainly had me thinking about it! These kids say whatever comes to their mind, whenever it comes to their mind. During a recent parent-teacher conference, I told the parent that her daughter was always respectful. She replied, “She better be, and if she isn’t you can take her in that bathroom!”  I had to laugh, and let her know those days were over. I need my job!  My girlfriend teaches middle school and she was called an a##hole and a dumb b***h by one of her students.  Makes you wonder if he knew he would be popped with a ruler, or taken to the office and paddled, if he would have thought twice before using those words at a teacher.  I didn’t have it that badly, but the disrespect makes you see red.  One of my students was asked by the intern to sit down, he refused. She told me what happened when I picked them up. As she walked past him, he made hand gestures at her and muttered something nasty. He was called into the principal’s office, but what would he receive, a talking to, that’s what.  Will it happen again? Of course.   I know if he was paddled, that doesn’t mean that he would not do it again. I know there are too many sick people who would take advantage and abuse our children. I know that it doesn’t necessarily stop a child from misbehaving.  I was not a victim of corporal punishment and I have never administered it. But this week had me thinking back to the old days!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

