Writing my way through the school year!

Every year as an educator I teach the history of Thanksgiving. When I started teaching 20+ years ago, it was all about the Pilgrims, the Indians and how happy everyone was on this new land.  As time progressed, and we as a nation became more honest, I’ve learned to educate my students from the point of view of the Pilgrims and the Native Americans. Many Native Americans do not celebrate this day when entire villages were wiped out through disease,and many of their people were enslaved, and that’s understandable.

And then today, the present, I have many things to be thankful for. My job, my family, friends, a place to go today to eat with loved ones. Many of my students have this wonderful opportunity as well.  But, I also educate them on the point of view of others, who are not so blessed, or lucky, whichever way it is viewed. They understand, all don’t have what they do, especially in this economy. I give my students a chance to understand that others views count, it doesn’t take away from theirs, it just opens their eyes to what else is out there.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

