Writing my way through the school year!

     This morning I got on the computer to sneak a peek at my blog before heading to the gym.  As usual though, I was distracted, and jumped from my blog to my email, which led  to an education newsletter, which led me to  an interesting article that was posted on The Innovative Educator blog,  “5th Grader’s Smart Advice About Standardized Testing.”  I was really interested in reading it because I teach 5th grade and I despise standardized testing.

However when I opened the post, I spotted a rectangle in the left hand corner of the post. It contained a speaker and the words “Listen Now”.  Of course, I was distracted because tech stuff trumps,well, just about anything with me.  I clicked the rectangle, and lo and behold, the blog was read to me! I had to investigate how this worked, I could always read the post later.

Introducing Odiogo, they  ” Turn readers into listeners, and transform your blog into a high quality, ad-supporting broadcast that can vastly expand your audience reach!”  In other words, people can now listen to your blog as a podcast, isn’t technology amazing?   Of course, I had to try it and I really like it. Imagine those who would love to read your blog, but are always on the go, or the visually impaired. It’s a win-win!  The great part is that it is free, but you do have to sign up. The “voice” leaves a lot to be desired, but they are working on it.  The voice also has trouble pronouncing links and some words, but I am sure all that will be fixed eventually.  Oh, and they promise a Odiogo app will be coming soon! And yes, I did eventually get back to reading that article and made it to the gym!:)

Diary of a Public School Teacher-podcast! – Subscribe!

How  To: Convert Your Blog into a Podcast for Free”

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

