Writing my way through the school year!

My 17-year-old and I were bonding watching music videos, and he was explaining who’s who and what’s what, and Lil Wayne’s video came on.

WOW! I almost cried after watching this video. My next thought was, “I hope our kids are seeing this. I hope our kids understand the message here. I hope our girls are seeing this.” This video broke my heart.
I know what you’re thinking, “A Lil Wayne video, is she crazy?”
But you have to watch until the end. Lil Wayne expertly presents the scenario of how life is for the main character as opposed to what life could have been for her, based on the choices she made.

No matter what you think of Lil Wayne, our children are listening to him!
Turn it into a lesson. Study the lyrics. Let students complete a biography about Lil Wayne and the choices he has made. But let them take this song/video apart and learn a lesson from one of their peers, someone they actually listen to.

I teach 5th grade, I wouldn’t show this video, even though I’m sure some of my students have seen it already. And this is not a video made just for “inner city/urban kids”, this is a video for ALL of our kids, because the choices they are making, oh my gosh, the choices they are making… If you think parts of it are too rough for your kids, use Tubechop to chop up the video.

If you are a middle or high school teacher, a parent, uncle, aunt, mentor, and you know someone who can benefit from seeing this video, watch it , and talk about it.That’s what I did with my 17-year-old, and we had an interesting discussion.

Sometimes those who we deem unsuitable, are the ones who can get through to our kids! My son put it simply, “Rappers influence people.” Why not let them be a good influence for a change?

Comments on: "Lil Wayne’s “How to Love” video- Teaching Life Choices, Their Way!" (2)

  1. notswallowedinthesea said:

    Well said and I believe it too! I watched the video and I would recommend any young adult to see it. Many people I know see it as “just another video” which can be a shame, but the ones that really look and listen will notice just how powerful the message is. I actually went to a Lil Wayne concert, and after he performed this song, he told his audience that he wrote that for “every single woman and girl out there in the world.” It’s a powerful message, not only for women but for men too. It teaches not only about making good choices, but about consequences, responsibility and respect. Thanks for posting this 🙂

Leave a comment