Writing my way through the school year!

Archive for December 1, 2013

Productive Parent -Teacher Conferences: A P/T Form That Helps!

Year after year, I have tried to find a way to make my conferences more productive. I had attempted to find a way to share information with my parents so they had a clear understanding of where their child is. I had always felt frustrated, when after a parent had gone , and I would think, “Oh, I forgot to tell her/him….”  READ MORE

“If You Give a Teacher a Free Day…!”.: Allowing Professionals to Develop Independently!

This year, Monday and Tuesday were designated as Parent-Teacher Conference Days. If you didn’t get a large turnout, you had some down time. What’s a teacher to do?

If you look at PD days that are scheduled throughout the school year, you would be under the impression that teachers did not have a clue with what to do with “free” time. We are treated like children, and every single second of the day is booked. There is no “free” time given to the teacher, as if without the PD Agenda, our day would be a complete waste of time.Which is funny, because I feel like that at times, even with an agenda. READ MORE