Writing my way through the school year!

If someone said to me, “You can only take 10 posts with you to (make up a place). AND, they have to be from 2011, which posts are you going to take?

Here are my choices, in no particular order:

“Open Letter to President Obama: This is What Standardized Testing LOOKS Like”

My students had just finished taking  the Spring 2011 DCAS standardized test that day.  I was so upset, I came home, didn’t even take off my jacket, and wrote this.

 
“Mistakes Happen”

Teachers have to realize that we are not perfect.  We can make mistakes and still be great teachers. As a  matter of fact, great teachers own up to their mistakes.

 
“If Teachers Were Treated Like Celebrities: A Short Story”

I wrote this for fun! Wishful thinking on my part. (sigh)

 
“Sit Down, Let’s #Chat! (My Twitter PLN)

This year, I really took advantage of what my Twitter PLN had to offer, and you can too!

 
“10 Gifts a Teacher Can Give Their Students

Easy gifts. Cost nothing. Priceless.

 
“Work as Play! Kids Just Want to Have Fun!”

I don’t want to be bored at work, and I am sure my students don’t want to be either. Spice up those lessons!:)

 
“Parent Accountability:  Letter to a Parent  #2”
I was upset when I wrote this. Boy, did I have a group that year. But you know what, I still believe enabling is bad for our students!

 
“They Did Not Choose Their Parents”

I heard this at a PLC conference in AZ, and it has stuck with me ever since.  It has changed the way I view my students.

 
“What’s Love Got to do With It?…Ask Your Students!

Someone posted a comment that we do enough as teachers in response to the 10 Gifts post, I know we do.  But is showing a little compassion, caring, and warmth, really going to hurt?

 
“Happy New (School) Year! I Resolve…   An oldie, but goodie!
HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! 

Leave a comment